About us

About Us Home > About > About us


 
Introduction to Shantou University Business School

Shantou University was founded in 1981 with the approval of State Council of China, which is a university built by Ministry of Education, Guangdong Province and the Li Ka Shing Foundation, as well as the only public university consistently sponsored by private foundation, the Li Ka Shing Foundation in the world. Shantou University is committed to the student-centered reform in terms of university administration and talent training and plans to carry out the most forward-looking life science and technology courses in the world in order to cultivate talents with the motto, “Aspiration, Knowledge, Perseverance, Achievement”. Since 2001, the university has conducted a profound internationalization-oriented reform. Through a series of visionary pedagogical reforms, it aims to offer a platform for the exploration of higher education reform in China, which was considered as “the experimental plot of university reform in China” by Li lanqing. In 2012, Ministry of Education, Guangdong Province and the Li Ka Shing Foundation have decided to jointly build Shantou University and provide support to deepen its reform to make it a well-known high-level university in China as well as in the world.

Shantou University is located in the intersection of Guangdong, Fujian and Taiwan provinces, with geographical advantages converging business administration education resources of the four places (mainland China, Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan regions). Shantou University Business School (STUBS) is one of the most important professional platforms to link university education and local need. The future development of STUBS is based on the background and demand of Chinese enterprises joining the global industrial division system, directly facing the eastward movement of industry in Pearl River Delta, the rapid rise of Economic Zone on the west side of the Strait and the joint opportunities, on the basis of which, the university attaches great importance to the construction of Business School. With support from the Li Ka Shing Foundation, special funds for the reform and development of the school have achieved remarkable results. Since 2007, school has accelerated the implementation of international strategy, joining the Association of Asia Pacific Business Schools (AAPBS), the European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD), the United Nations’ Principle for Responsible Management Education (PRME), the Association to Advanced Collegiate Schools of Business School (AACSB) and the Association of BRICS Business Schools (ABBS) in succession, which lays the foundation for participating in global competition and cooperation and achieving sustainable development. In February 2012, Business School obtained the EPAS international accreditation for Business Administration Bachelor’s degree programs. In February 2015, all bachelor’s degree programs in BS obtained the EPAS international accreditation.

The mission of Shantou University Business School is: enterprising achievement, global mindset to develop an internationally recognized platform for business education and play a catalyst role in China’s business education reform. The specific strategy goes as follows:

1. Overall Strategy: follow the internationalism of business administration education and development of medium-small companies of South China region. Combine the advanced western management theory with the success practice of local companies to form professional education resource. Construct the business administration education system of internationalism, localism, specialism and anthropomorphism. Establish the teaching experimental base with multiple courses of theory, skills and practice. Highlight the education specials of management theory, arts and practice. Educate the talents of business administration who have moral, ambition and ability. Through our continuous effort, the business administration major has won professional certificate from authorized organizations home and abroad. These majors are now playing as a model and offering beneficial experience to the reform and development of business administration education in China with their high quality education.

2. Talents Cultivating Strategy: implement educational idea of “Being aspiring, knowledgeable, persevering and successful” which was put forward by the main donor of Shantou University and business leader Mr. Li Ka-shing. We focus on professional ethics education and humanistic quality education, cultivate middle and high level talented managers in small and medium sized enterprises who have noble professional ethics, global vision, local concern and master management theories and deeply know the art of management as well as be proficient in managing. The impressing professional image established by cultivating high-quality talents expands the social influence, which makes the graduate employment rate of Shantou University being in the forefront of the same kind of professional team.

3. Faculty building object: recruit excellent talents from both at home and abroad, build up a moderate scale, international and professional group of young and dynamic faculty. In the process of feature specialty construction, we improve the knowledge structure, degree structure, professional title structure and learning-origin structure, emphasize the cultivation of faculty’s morality and continuous learning, focus on integration and enhance the faculty's teamwork ability and teaching innovation ability, applied research ability and self-developed ability, form a sustainable competitive advantage of the reform and development.

4. Curriculum system building goals: to build a curriculum system that is adaptable and has international reputations according to international standards and international practice. Based on the existing achievements of teaching reform, to reform and enrich courses as well as strengthen the link between the curriculum and curriculum modules according to demands of companies and students. To set up case library of Chinese merchants (Chaoshan merchants), students practice bases and entrepreneurial bases in order to promote the organic combination of theories teaching, skills teaching and practice teaching. To strengthen construction of experimental demonstration center and of digital resources as well as to constantly improve advanced teaching methods. To vigorously promote informatization of curriculum construction and informatization of teaching management to enhance the interactive teaching effect and increase teaching efficiency as well as management efficiency.

Shantou University Business School bravely reformed traditional education mode according to the trend of economic globalization and construction of Chinese market economy, which made the school rise and develop rapidly these years and attract more and more attentions of top candidates. The business school has achieved 100% recruit from the first choice during 2004 to 2015. The number of candidates that get high scores is increasing and the quality of candidates is improving. Graduates from the business school are welcomed by many institutions such as industrial and commercial enterprises, government agencies (civil servants) and financial institutions. In recent years, the number of graduates that were employed by famous enterprises like world top 500 and multinational companies is increasing. These famous enterprises include Cheung Kong, Hutchison Whampoa, China Telecom, Bank of China, HSBC, UBS, GF Securities, Ge, TCL, Samsung, Galanz, Midea, Watsons, Procter & Gamble, Johnson, PWC, DDT, Ernst & young, KPMG and other international well-known companies and accounting firms. The primary employment rate of graduates from the business school is above 95% and the final employment rate reaches 100%, which are far more than the national average. The vast majority of graduates work in Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Foshan, Dongguan and other economically developed areas of the Pearl River Delta region and the average salaries increase significantly year after year.

The famous business leader Li Ka Shing is committed to the development of Shantou University Business School. He delivered speeches titled “the art of making money”, “the art of devotion” and “the art of management” to the School’s students. Till December, 2015, the school has organized 131 forums. Economic Forum invites celebrities of business world, government departments and academic world to communicate with the undergraduates. It has been broadly influencing the whole country, especially the eastern part of Guangdong province.

With care of government department and leaders and under support from the Li Ka Shing Foundation, Shantou University Business School will always keep “enterprising achievement, global mindset” as the motto, develop in reforms and make more contributions to the development of China’s society and economy.

汕大商院

学院介绍 网站首页 > 汕大商院 > 学院介绍


 汕头大学商学院简介       

 
        汕头大学是1981年经国务院批准成立的广东省属“211工程”重点建设综合性大学,是教育部、广东省、李嘉诚基金会三方共建的高等院校,也是全球唯一一所由私人基金会——李嘉诚基金会持续资助的公立大学。学校围绕“有志、有识、有恒、有为”的育人目标,坚持以学生为本,进行大学管理体制的改革和人才培养模式的创新,并计划全新兴建的医学院将开展全球最前瞻的生命科技教学课程。2001年起,汕头大学在李嘉诚基金会支持下,学校全面启动以国际化为导向的改革工程,聘请外籍人才担任执行校长、副校长、院长等职务,在课程、教学、资源管理及人事制度进行具典范意义的全方位教育改革探索,诸多改革经验已得到国家的肯定、支持和推广,被李岚清同志高度评价为“中国高校改革的试验田”。 2012年,教育部、广东省、李嘉诚基金会决定三方共建汕头大学,支持汕头大学继续深化改革,建设成为一所国内先进、国际知名的高水平大学。 
 
        汕头大学位于广东、福建和台湾三省的交汇地带,具有汇聚两岸四地(大陆及港澳台地区)工商管理教育资源的地缘文化优势。汕头大学商学院是联结学校教育与地方需求最重要的专业平台之一,其未来发展立足于中国企业加入全球产业分工体系的背景和需求,直接面临珠江三角洲产业东移、海峡西岸经济区快速崛起及两者融合发展的机遇。基于此,学校高度重视商学院的建设,在香港李嘉诚基金会的大力支持下,投入专项经费用于学院的改革与发展事业,取得了明显成效。自2007年起,学院加速实施国际化战略,相继加入亚太商学院联合会(AAPBS)、欧洲管理发展基金会(EFMD)、负责任管理原则(PRME)、国际精英商学院联合会(AACSB)和新兴经济体商学院联合会(ABBS),全面融入国际工商管理教育网络,为学院参与全球竞争与合作、实现可持续发展奠定了良好基础。2012年2月,商学院通过EPAS国际认证,工商管理大类本科专业成为亚洲地区首次通过EPAS国际认证的本科专业。2015年2月,商学院全部本科专业通过EPAS国际认证。
 
        目前,商学院已初步建成培养高素质创新型管理人才的改革示范基地,形成以工商管理专业为龙头、涵盖相关专业的完整学科体系,完成了工商管理大类本科专业(含工商管理、会计学、市场营销三个专业)、经济学大类本科专业(含国际经济与贸易、金融学两个本科专业)、工商管理一级学科硕士点、产业经济学硕士点和工商管理专业学位硕士点(MBA)的建设,其中,工商管理本科专业于2006年入选广东省名牌专业,2007年入选国家教育部特色专业建设点,国际经济与贸易专业2011入选广东省特色建设专业。学院“整合思维型经济管理人才培养模式创新实验区”2011年入选省级创新实验区。2014年,学院申报广东省高等学校“试点学院”项目获批,成为广东省本科高校质量工程建设项目。学院正向着更高、更远的目标大踏步前进。
 
        汕头大学商学院的发展战略使命是“功在商道,心达寰宇建设国际知名的工商管理教育平台,推动中国工商管理教育改革”,具体的战略目标如下
 
        1.总体建设目标:顺应工商管理教育国际化的发展趋势和本土企业尤其是华南地区中小型企业的发展要求,注重西方先进管理理论与本土企业成功实践的融合和凝练,兼收并蓄,形成优质的专业教育资源和能力。建设融国际化、本土化、精细化和人格化等“四化”为一体的工商管理教育体系,建设覆盖理论教学、技能教学和实践教学的多层次课程体系和相应的教学试验基地,突出管理理论、管理艺术和管理技术并重的教学科研特色,培养有道德、有抱负、有能力的新一代工商管理人才。经过不懈的努力,使工商管理及相关专业通过国内外权威机构的专业认证,形成高质高效的办学基准,为中国工商管理教育的改革与发展提供有益的经验,发挥示范带动作用。
 
        2.人才培养目标:在专业教学中贯彻和体现汕头大学主要捐资者、商界领袖李嘉诚先生提出的“有志、有识、有恒、有为”的育人思想。注重职业道德教育和人文素质教育,培养有高尚职业道德、兼具全球视野和本土关怀、掌握管理理论、熟谙管理艺术、精通管理技术的中小企业中高层管理人才。通过培养高素质人才树立良好的专业形象,扩大社会影响,使毕业生就业率居于同类专业队的前列。
 
        3.师资队伍建设目标:延揽海内外尤其是两岸四地的优秀人才,建设一支规模适度、国际化和专业化程度高、年轻而富有活力的专、兼职师资队伍。在特色专业建设过程中不断改善师资队伍的知识结构、学历结构、职称结构和学缘结构,强调师德培养和持续学习,注重整合和提升师资队伍的团队协作能力、教学创新能力、应用研究能力和咨询、开发能力,形成改革与发展的可持续竞争优势。
 
        4.课程体系建设目标:根据国际标准和国际惯例,建设有国际声誉的、可适应的课程体系。以现有的教学改革成果为基础,根据企业需求和学生需求,改革和充实课程内容,完善课程之间和课程模块之间的联系机制,建设华商(潮商)案例库、学生实习基地和创业基地,促进理论教学、技能教学和实践教学的有机结合。加强实验示范中心建设和数字资源建设,不断完善先进的教学手段。大力推进课程建设信息化和教学管理信息化,改善互动式教学效果,提高教学效益和管理效率。
 
        汕头大学商学院根据经济全球化的发展趋势和中国市场经济建设的实际需要,大胆改革传统教育模式,在近年来快速发展和崛起,受到越来越多高分考生的重视。学院从2004年至2016年连续十多年实现100%第一志愿录取,高分层人数不断增加,生源质量不断提高。商学院毕业生受到工商企业、政府机关(公务员)以及金融机构等各行各业的欢迎。近年来,被世界500强及跨国公司等知名企业聘用的本科毕业生人数呈逐年上升趋势,其中不乏国内外著名企业,如长江实业、和记黄埔、中国电信、中国银行、汇丰银行、瑞银集团、广发证券、通用电气、TCL、三星电子、格兰仕、美的、宝洁、屈臣氏、强生、普华永道、安永、德勤、毕马威等国际知名公司和会计师事务所。商学院毕业生一次就业率都在95%以上,最终就业率达到100%,远远超过全国大学平均水平。绝大多数毕业生在广州、深圳、佛山、东莞等珠江三角洲经济发达地区就业,平均薪酬连年大幅提升。
 
        著名商界领袖李嘉诚先生对汕头大学商学院的发展十分重视和关心。他亲自为商学院同学主讲“赚钱的艺术”、“奉献的艺术”和“管理的艺术”。由他亲自开讲的“经济沙龙”至2016年12月已举办了138期。“经济沙龙”遍邀企业界、政府部门和学术界等天下名师与本科同学交流和互动,在全国尤其是粤东地区产生了广泛影响。
 
        在各级政府部门及领导的关怀下,在李嘉诚基金会的大力支持下,汕头大学商学院将一如既往,以“功在商道,心达寰宇”为己任,在改革中继续发展壮大,为中国社会经济的和谐发展做出更大贡献。